-->

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Aroma ADF-212 Smart Fry Digital Dual Basket Deep Fryer

Just recently, I got an Aroma Deep Fryer in the mail from amazon.com. I was so excited when it came! I seriously wanted to hug the FedEx lady! It is SO much bigger than I had anticipated! I used it twice just today, and I am in complete loooooove! First of all, it all comes apart, heating element comes out and everything! That to me is a definitive decision maker when it comes to purchasing a small appliance. When I have to take 3 hours just to clean out the cornbread batter from homemade corn dogs, that's pathetic. Do you know how long it took me to clean it out of the oil today? Probably not even 10 minutes. Seriously. It was that easy! All I did to get it completely cleaned out and ready to go next time was this:

1) Took off the lid.
2) Pulled out the heating element (which is connected to the controls).
3) Picked up the square enamel base.
4) Poured it through a paper-towel lined strainer.
5) Put it back together.
6) Dumped the strained, corn-dog-batter-bit free oil back in.

It was so fast and super easy. I hate fighting with all the little teeny itty bitty flecks of batter and breading that get lost in the vat of hot oil, so being able to get them out this easily was FABULOUS!

When it came to setting the temp after simply plugging it in and turning it on, on the Aroma Smart Fry Digital Fryer, that task was also very simple. I read that the controls for the temperature and timer can be difficult to use, but whoever that person was should have been reading "Digital Fryers For Dummies", because honestly, it was super duper simple, even if it does have 10 pre-programmed settings! You simply push the temp button until the temperature you'd like to fry up your donuts, fries, or breaded chicken in is blinking on the digital screen. I did notice that the steam that comes up through the lid can make for a bit of a scare when you're not thinking about it. I nearly screamed like my little brother when the steam burnt my hand as I went to turn off the timer. Ok, thank goodness you can't see my cheeks, yep, they're red, yes, it was a bit embarrassing, and yes it was stupid. Also, yes, it will probably happen again and again and again. haha :)

The amount of food this awesome heaven-sent appliance can hold is amazing. A whopping FOUR pounds. Yep. 4 pounds of tater-totty goodness. 4 pounds of deliciously salty, stringy Mozzarella sticks. Heck, thanks to the fact that it comes with not only one regular-sized basket, but three baskets, one regular-sized, and two deeper-edged ones, means if I really wanted to, I could make both tater tots AND Mozzarella sticks. At ONCE! I couldn't believe that it included three baskets. To me that's perfect, because the different things we fry sometimes can be combined, but other times, can't. Mozzarella sticks, for example, I don't care if mine stick to other Mozzarella sticks, but I definitely don't want them sticking to my chicken nuggets.

I am in love with the little (but big, for a fryer!) glass window on the lid, it didn't fog up either, when I made french fries, OR our favorite homemade corn dogs. The cool-touch handles on both the sides and the lid are great, especially for a frazzled mom like myself, that has, on numerous occasions grabbed un-hot-pad-covered pans that had been pulled from the oven just moments before. (Come on, I know I'm not the only one that's done that!) I am sure I could write a book, I am so in love. There really are many little things about my new fryer that seem to be "not that big of a deal" but when you wrap them all up into one shiny-surfaced, convenience-creator, it makes a difference. There are so many "pros" I've discovered, and I am sure I will eventually have a list of "cons" besides "Steam burned my hand when I went to adjust the timer" but for now, I am on Cloud 9.

post signature

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Girly bows for your girly girl!

Photobucket

When I was approached by Michelle of Binga Bows to do a review, I almost said no, seeing that I haven 't given birth to any girls yet, just boys. As cute as my 3.5 year old would be with a colorful flower in his hair... I decided to give the bows to my sister-in-law, Melanie. My favorite thing about the bows, from the second we opened them, was the vibrant colors, quality material and the way they're put-together. Her favorite thing was the fact that they stayed in Macelynn's hair! They were the first bow she's come across that didn't slide out within minutes of being put in! What excitement that was! So, know that if your little girl has super-fine hair, the bows from Binga Bows may just work! There are five fabulous styles Binga Bows has to offer: Binga Bows, Binga Blossoms, Binga Clippies, Binga Beanies/headbands (perfect for your brand-new baby that may not have a lot of hair to clip a bow to!) and Binga Bow Holders. When I let Michelle know I'd love to review her bows, I couldn't believe how quickly she got the package to my home! It came packaged wonderfully, in a pretty fancy schmancy tissue paper stuffed box. It was fun to open it, looking at each beautiful bow as I took it out. Macelynn, my niece, looks absolutely fabulous in them. They match her girly personality perfectly! If you ever need super adorable, colorful, well-made bows for your daughter, and at a super affordable price, Binga Bows is the way to go! ♥ Also, if you're concerned about not finding one that matches your baby girls' new outfit, don't be concerned any longer! She offers a CUSTOM design service too!


Friday, September 4, 2009

As an avid cinnamon-flavoring LOVER, I have eaten and liked many different cinnamon flavored everything: hard candies, suckers, bears, gum, and Salt Water Taffy. Nothing, and I do mean nothing (with the exception of if somebody were to lick the lid of cinnamon flavoring oil), comes even CLOSE to being as delicious, chewy, and best of all: HOT and CINNAMON-Y as Jelly Belly Unbearably Hot Cinnamon Bears! They're my new addiction. After a trip to your Chicago factory 3 weeks ago, where I purchased two bags, I discovered and ate these bears for the first time. I'm hooked. Where have they been my whole life?! Jelly Belly has created a product that not only tastes perfectly wonderful, but is packaged fabulously and is a reasonable price too!

post signature

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

Sweet Ruby Blankets


When I opened the mail I got from April of Sweet Ruby on Etsy (also at www.sweetrubyblankets.com), I could have never been more happy! A onesie, a pacifier clip and a binky blanket is what I found, as I excitedly tore into the packaging. I was instantly sucked in by the cuddly softness of the Binky Blanket. The soft as butter "minky" fabric was not only adorable and perfectly boyish ("Blueberry Chocolate" *squeal!* doesn't that sound good enough to eat?!), but it was oh-so-soft! I'd be happy with a pillow made out of Binky Blankets! Holden absolutely loves his, especially when he's tired. Now, instead of scratching my arm to bits like a cat claws a pole... he can cuddle/scratch at his immensley soft blanket! PLUS, we all know how bad it sucks to lose a binky in the middle of the night, right? Not when you have it clipped on to this! The perfect-sized, 14 x 14 inch panel of fabric makes it easy to find the pacifier, even if it's 3:00 am and there isn't a single light on. Baby doesn't take a binky? No prob. You'll be happy to know that the loop on it is big enough (and perfect) for snapping it to any type of "device" that carries your kiddo, so he/she will always have his/her lovey with them! Stroller, carseat, snugli carrier, bouncy seat, I even attached mine to Holden's swing! No lost blanket when we're at the mall. No lost blanket when we're in the car. No lost blanket when I'm at Target! It goes right on the handle of the cart. Brilliant!
So... an awesome blanket, woo. Woo is right... because that's not all I recieved from April. I was also given the chance to review (and boy has it been put to use!) a uber-cute binky clip. Sooooo much cuter than those other boring ones. No more fighting with those stinkin' alligator clips and acrylic nails! It simply opens and shuts. That's it. No pulling, no cursing, no struggling... easy to open, easy to close. Holden loves it, cause his bink is never far. I love it cause his bink is never far AND, with an adorable chocolate-brown-with-white-polka-dots pattern, it matches ANYTHING he wears!






Now, I can't wait for the day that he can wear that flippin' adorable elephant onesie! Whew, you're thinking, what an awesome business! She makes binky blankets and pacifier clips. Just wait until you see everything else this so-incredibly talented mama makes!



So, now that you know all the cutie-patootie things she makes, go on over, and check out Sweet Ruby Blankets!


*If you happen to be in the Utah area (or even if you're not!) make sure you go check out Crazi Beautiful Women, where they're featuring April!*

Photobucket

post signature

Thursday, May 14, 2009

WINNER of the Lilboo & Co Giveaway!

First of all, sorry I've been on a hiatus... the desktop has a viral infection and won't log in, so until we get that back up and running, I am on my only-works-when-it-feels-like-it laptop. Anyways, we have a winner for the Lilboo & Co Giveaway!


Congratulations to

Trisha Napolitan!



I went to Random.org, and here you have it: comment #10:



Watch for an email, Trisha! =) Congrats! You're (or your kiddo, rather) going to LOVE it! Beckham loves his (and so do I!!!)!

post signature

Thursday, May 7, 2009

Fun + Funky + Modern = Eenamaria


When I got my eenamaria bag in the mail, I would have never guessed it would be near as attractive or large as it was! I mean, a bag is a bag, right? Wrong! Eenamaria bags boast an exterior of luxuriously shiny vinyl and a bold eye-catching red lined interior. You can’t tell me that’s not unique! Not only is my new eenamaria Workin' Weekend Baby Tote colorful (I chose this one, decked in white, black, green & blue colors.) but it’s totally functional too! I was completely taken aback at the amount of baby (and mama) items I was able to take with me (in it’s 31.5" linear measuring interior) when we went to my husband’s soccer game yesterday afternoon. Quite frankly, I think my husband may have been too. The fact that I didn't have my purse with me all day surprised him, and, much to my excitement, because it's "attractive" he didn't mind carrying it for me!




It's vinyl makes it a perfect diaper bag when you have messy kids. My son got his cracker-and-milk-gone-cottage-cheese-spit-up on the front of it. (He slobbered quite a bit too.) Any other bag (my current purse, for example) would absorb this lovely, wet, stinky liquid (if you can call it liquid) that came from his mouth. (Or his 3 year old brothers' melting popsicle residue!) But not this new tote. I wiped it right off! With a baby wipe. Nothing left! Not a drop.

The person behind the designing of the eenamaria purses, totes and accessories is Sarah Morgan. She describes the women who carry these trend-setting purses as “urban nomads”. With fun and very unique names such as: Mini-Take a Walk on the Wild Side, Murse or Purse or the I Mean Bizniss Travel Tote, there is a bag or tote for women from every walk of life. If you're a mom, a woman who loves fun, unique bags, or even a purse-o-holic like myself, eenamaria is for you.


Sarah recently debuted on QVC in February.

post signature

Monday, May 4, 2009

Lilboo & Co (Giveaway!)


As a stay at home mom to two little kiddos, Nicole of Lilboo & Co spends her time crafting lovely items that are not only aesthetically pleasing but useful too! My son loves his Color Caboodle™ Crayon Roll that she gave to us. He went right to town coloring with the crayons that come included in Lilboo & Co's Color Caboodle™. The perfect-for-traveling case is made of high quality felt and decked out with grosgrain ribbon, which also ties the Color Caboodle™ shut, keeping the crayons in one organized, happy place! :) Each one holds 16 regular crayons (2 in each of the perfectly stitched pockets) or 8 jumbo-sized crayons. But, just as Nicole at Lilboo & Co suggests, don't let that stop your imagination! Lip glosses. Chalk. Crochet Hooks. Mascara. The possibilities really are endless! These adorable and colorful crayon-toting pouches aren't the only thing that Nicole makes. She also crafts Boo Boo Cubes, Hair Bows/Clippies, Headbands/Ribbon Socks, Bow Holders and more! She just recently added party supplies. Make sure you go check out her paper goodies.




Now, for YOUR chance to win any Color Caboodle that you see at her Etsy site! Here are ways to get 1 (one) entry:

1. Leave a comment for me telling me which Color Caboodle you like and why.

2. Grab my button and place it on your sidebar.

3. Blog about the contest on your blog (make sure you link back to here).

4. Tweet about this contest (you can follow me on Twitter if you'd like: @1hotsoccermom).

5. Become a follower of my blog.


You can check out everything from Lilboo & Co on her Etsy site, her blog, or Facebook.


***Contest ends on May 13th!***

post signature